top of page

Holmes becomes fourth different Pro Late Model winner at speedway

Three-time Short Track Shootout champion Eric Holmes stood tall after leading all 80 laps for the Military Tribute Night victory at Madera Speedway.

The MAVTV-televised win in the Nut Up Pro Late Model Series paid $2,000 during a patriotic weekend at the one-third mile speedway Saturday.

Driving a car that he described in victory lane as the “best he’s ever driven” for Nascimento Motorsports, Holmes became the fourth different winner of the year in the hotly contested series. He won time trials then drew the pole position after the top 10 redraw.

Holmes managed to get around Carlos Vieira in the closing stages of the race to take a six-car length win over Blaine Rocha, Dylan Zampa, Matt Erickson, and Austin Herzog.

Tanner Reif added to his remarkable season with his third victory in the 51FIFTY Jr. Late Model Series. The 13- year-old has now led 210 laps over the course of the four races and has recorded fast-time in all four events, as well.

Reif built up a 2.5 second lead that was erased for a caution when Kabe McClenny’s car littered turn two with debris. Seth Wise and Joey Iest continued battling for second with Wise sliding up the race track to yield third to Tyler Reif.

Tyler Reif then took over second from Iest before a lap 63 caution set up a seven-lap sprint between the brothers. Tanner Reif started inside brother Tyler and charged away for the victory with Tyler narrowly defeating Iest for second. Wise and McClenny rounded out the top-five.

Hank Hall returned to the Mini Cups vs. Bandoleros and won the Bandolero portion by leading 19 of the 20 laps of competition. Hall started fourth, but quickly moved past opening winner Ethan Nascimento for the top spot. Dylan Baptista challenged 2018 champion Riley Massey for second position before he spun on lap 14.

Sheldon Cooper climbed aboard former Toyota Sedan champion Jillaun Holden’s No. 14 car to take a narrow victory over Jason Lawton. The pair ran side-by-side for several laps before Cooper grabbed the lead for good on lap 23. Lawton finished second with Damien Leininger in third.

Ryan Reynolds topped a strong field for the Modified Super Toyota 25-lap victory. Patrick Geiger led the opening lap before Reynolds took over. A heated battle developed for second position between Geiger and Shaun Reynolds that lasted the duration of the event. Coming to the finish, the pair came together into turn three with Geiger spinning.

Reynolds was victorious with rookie Kyle Labrie scored second while John McCullum overcame an early spin to finish third.

Up next for Madera Speedway is the MAVTV televised Lucas Oil Summertime Horsepower Nationals with the Spears Southwest Tour and the Spears Modified Series, Madera Hobby Stocks, and Legends of Kearney Bowl

For information about Madera Racing on MAVTV, visit or

Madera Racing on MAVTV airs Thursdays every week. The show airs at 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. and is also available on the Lucas Oil Racing TV app. The 2018 episodes will continue airing until the late spring, before 2019 episodes hit the airwaves on June 6.

bottom of page