top of page

County honors pentathlon winners

For The Madera Tribune

The North Fork School’s Academic Pentathlon team won the Madera County competition on March 17. Team members include: Makayla Agundez, Desiree Coleman, Hailey DeBoer, Elva Gurule, Katherine Havens, Katelynn Mangan, Benjimen McMillan, Emma Prescott, Adalie Waltner. North Fork is coached by Katie Kelly and Carrie Waltner.


The 2019 Madera County Academic Pentathlon culminated with the Super Quiz and Awards Ceremony and named Sherman Thomas STEM Academy this year’s seventh grade champion team and North Fork School the eighth grade champion team.

More than 200 students participated in this five-event academic competition, held on March 8 and 16.

Students competed in the areas of essay, fine arts, literature, science and social science. This year’s topic was The 1960s: A Transformational Decade.

North Fork School came in second place in the seventh grade competition and Spring Valley Elementary School placed third.

Mountain Home School Charter came in second in the eighth grade competition and Sherman Thomas STEM Academy placed third.

North Fork Elementary School earned first place in the both the seventh and eighth grade Super Quiz competitions.

Sherman Thomas STEM Academy placed second in the seventh grade Super Quiz competition and Martin Luther King, Jr. Middle School placed third.

In eighth grade Super Quiz competition, Mountain Home Charter School came in second place and Sherman Thomas STEM Academy placed third.

“Madera County’s seventh and eighth grade pentathletes are amazing,” said Dr. Cecilia Massetti, Madera County Superintendent of Schools. “They studied countless hours, showed exceptional sportsmanship, team spirit, and dedication throughout the contest. Our students did extremely well.”

Each team consisted of up to 15 students per team. Students had to compete in all five events. Teams had been practicing for this event since October.

The Academic Pentathlon is sponsored by Madera County Superintendent of Schools and the Madera County Schools Foundation and supported by community donations.

bottom of page