top of page

West leads 51FIFTY Jr Late Models

Race No. 7 of the eight-race championship is tonight at the LoanMart Madera Speedway and, after six of the eight races in the inaugural season of the 51FIFTY Jr Late Model Series, 12-year-old Dezel West finds himself with a slim 26-point lead over hard charging Austin Herzog.

Herzog has won three televised races while West has claimed the last two main events in a row. The series is designed so the best 10-16-year-old drivers can showcase their talent on MAVTV nationwide, and that is just what Ben Silliker, Jarrett Gilmer and Austin Edwards have been able to do as they hold down point positions third through fifth place. Edwards has also picked up one win on national television.

In the LoanMart Late Model Series, Matt Erickson has a firm grip on the 2016 championship battle. That is the good news for Erickson. The bad news is the series is going into the fall swing and Erickson has never won a race of any kind in October, and the $10,000-to-win race is Oct. 8.

Ryan Philpott sits in second in the points battle after a quality season in his late model, but it is third place to 10th that you can throw a blanket on the championship as less than 50 points separates Garland Tyler, Ryan Hart, Glen Cook, Rick Thompson, Shelden Cooper, Jason Aguirre, Bryan Herzog, and Joey Licata. The point standings are very important going into the $10,000-to-win race for the bonus bucks program and the provisional starting positions.

The Madera Super Hobby Stock series features one of the best championships of the entire season and the series has produced some amazing door-to-door action. Joseph Riechmuth has a tiny three-point lead over Chuck Dozhier with Thomas Suarez just 25-points back, and Eloy Bazan just 33-points back with two races to go.

The Mini Super Toyota championship has Kevin Thompson in charge with Bert Stephens chasing him. The Toyota Sedan division has two ladies in firm control of the championship with Jillaun Holden and Lucy Carmona one-two in the points over third place driver Thomas Mcgray.

The Enduro track championship is a combination of the traditional Enduro racing points and the Extreme Barrel racing points. On the Enduro side of the points, Richard Herzog is just four points ahead of Brett Wasson and Mike Robertson. On the Extreme Barrel racing side of the points, Wasson and James Cooke are tied.

All of the divisions listed above compete tonight at the Loanmart Madera Speedway, main events start at 5 p.m.

Adult tickets are only $15, seniors and military are only $13, youth ages 6-12 are just $7, and kids 5 and under are free.

For information, go to

bottom of page