top of page

Madera F.A.N. readies for HOF

The Madera F.A.N. group has announced its eighth class into the Madera Athletic Hall of Fame.

The F.A.N. usually inducts a Hall of Fame class every other year. However, 2020 was a different year and had to postpone plans. The group will induct five individuals, three teams, two contributors an a coach for the 2021 class, although the induction ceremony will take place Jan. 15, 2022.

Baseball player LaShelle Tarver, cross country and track star Benny Madrigal, softball player Vanessa Salinas and multiple sport standout Tera (Booker) Napier will represent Madera High School. Multi-sport athlete Derek Hansen will become the third Madera South athlete inducted.

The ceremony begins at 6 p.m. at the Home Arts Building (Woman’s World) at the Madera District Fair. The dinner will be catered by Sugar Pine Smokehouse and tickets for the event are $50.

In addition to the individuals, the 1965 cross country team led by Robert Yslas and Alex Fierros (along with Chon Holguin, Tony Gomes, Adriano Fierros, Sammy Caldwell, Ted Martinz and Robet Flores) and the 1990 cross country team led by Polo Duarte and Oscar Sanchez (along with Art Rodriguez, Erik Kroft, Jose Uribe, Jose Santiago and Francisco Madrigal) will give the event a definite running feel.

Also, the 1966 diving team of Don McAlister, Dennis Row, Ray Saterstad, Mke Robertson, Robin Yarborough, Patty Uhalde, Theresa Galano and Andrea Mortimer will also be inducted.

Madera Auto Center owners Marty and Lela Mayfohrt and longtime track coach, the late Don Kautz will also be honored.

To purchase tickets, to donate raffle or silent auction prizes or to help sponsor the event, contact Ryan Desmond at 706-3027 or Tyler Takeda at 217-0311 or email

The Madera F.A.N. is also looking for contact information of members of the 1965 cross country team and the 1965 diving team. Email with any information.


bottom of page