top of page

Austin wins Herzog vs. Herzog battle

Austin Herzog has established himself as the Late Model driver to beat at the Madera Speedway this season.

He is the points leader in the Nut Up Pro Late Model Series and he is also the overall late model point leader at the Madera Speedway for the 2019 racing season.

Tyler Herzog has moved up on the Late Model food chain as one of the top competitors and this has set the stage for a Herzog verses Herzog battle at The Madera Speedway.

Twenty-one Late Models took the green flag Saturday night at the Madera Speedway in a field of cars that consisted of MAVTV stars Matt Erickson, Austin and Tyler Herzog, Shelden Cooper from the Nut Up Pro Series and 51FIFTY Jr Late Model Series standouts Joey Iest and Jay Juleson, as well as a group of top local drivers including Elliot Stjerne, Trevor Schlundt, Henk Gaalswyk Jr, and Del McIntosh.

When the Late Models thundered into action, fans enjoyed side-by-side racing from the front of the pack to the rear of the field. For much of the 40-lap main event, it was a Herzog vs. Herzog battle up front with Erickson right on their back bumpers. Tyler Herzog drove past Austin Herzog for second in the last MAVTV race a week ago as Austin was fighting a lack of forward bite with the big engine in a race that had four of the top five running the 602 crate engine combination.

Austin reversed the roles on cousin Tyler this race as Austin held off both of the hard charging 602s of Tyler Herzog and Erickson for the victory.

Jr. Late Model star Iest gained some valuable seat time as he battled for a fourth place finish going toe-to-toe with Gaalswyk Jr. and Stjerne for much of the race. Gaalswyk looked poised for another podium finish early in the race until a mechanical issue forced him into the pits on two occasions.

Stjerne finished fifth in the tough field holding off the hard charging 51FIFTY Jr. Late Model driver Juleson that brought home a solid sixth place finish.

Schlundt finished seventh, followed by Mike Shipero, McIntosh, Eloy Bazan, Loren Kutz, Matt Kutz, Kent Cam, Henk Gaalswyk Jr, Jeff Mead, Jeremy Davis, Cooper, Jeff Lowhorn, Aaron Mullins and Will Martyn.

Rookie Kyle Labrie had a standout night in the MST’s passing most all of the top drivers to take control of the class and win the main event on a beautiful evening at the Madera Speedway. Patrick Geiger and Shaun Reynolds rounded out the top three.

Jason Lawton won the Toyota Sedans race with Kurt Davidson and Andrew Parr lacing second and third. Steve Schermerhorn added another victory to his resume in the Hobby Stock Series.

Next up for Madera Speedway is July 13 with the MAVTV California Challenge CUP 100-lap (Big Truck Arm Cars), Gerhardt Classic, three-wide, MAVTV/Madera/BCRA/POWRi Midget Series, Focus Midgets, NCMA Sprints, Legends of Kearney Bowl, CVMS Mini Stock Invasion.

For information about Madera Racing on MAVTV, visit or

Madera Speedway is presented by major partners Nut Up Industries, 51FIFTY Energy Drink, iPull-uPull, and Color Fast Industries. Contingency sponsors include Five Star Bodies, Maita Motorsports, McAllister Precision Marketing, Shenanigan’s Restaurant and StopTech Brakes.

Madera Racing on MAVTV airs Thursdays every week. The show airs at 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. and is also available on the Lucas Oil Racing TV app.

bottom of page